

MINUTES OF ALL SAINTS' CHILTON ANNUAL PAROCHIAL MEETING AND ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING HELD ON SUNDAY 17th APRIL 2016 AT 10.40am AND 10.45am RESPECTIVELY IN THE CHURCH

The Rector, the Revd Dr Jonathan Mobey was in the Chair and 34 parishioners were present, including the Revd Pam Rolls and 2 children.

The Rector welcomed everyone to the meeting, which followed the morning church service, after a short break.

ANNUAL PAROCHIAL MEETING

- Apologies for Absence had been received from Mr John Pigott, Mrs Yvonne Sanderson, and Mrs Rosemary Rolls
- 2. <u>Minutes of the previous Annual Meetings</u> The minutes of the last meetings had been circulated (with the other reports to be accepted) and were accepted unanimously and duly signed.
- 3. <u>Election of Churchwardens.</u> The Rector thanked Mrs Naomi Gibson and Mr Alex Reich for their service during 2015. They had both been nominated for 2016.

Mrs Naomi Gibson proposed by Mrs Carol Pigott, seconded by Mr Alex Reich. Mr Alex Reich proposed by Mr John Pigott, seconded by Mrs Audrey Slater. They were duly elected unanimously.

ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING

1. <u>Elections/Appointments</u>

(i) <u>Deanery Synod Representatives</u> We are entitled to 2 representatives, to serve from 2014 to 2017.

Mr John Pigott continues as one of our representatives. Mrs Sylvie Thompson was nominated to fill the existing vacancy.

Proposed by Mrs Carol Pigott, seconded by Mrs Liz Morris

(ii) <u>PCC Members</u> There were 3 vacancies for 3 years, and 1 vacancy for 2 years.

Nominated for 3 years:

Mrs Mary Elizabeth Morris Mrs Hazel Helen King Mr Phil Corbishley

proposed by Mr Stuart Gibson, seconded by Mrs Carol Pigott proposed by Mr Stuart Gibson, seconded by Mr Alex Reich proposed by Mrs Carol Pigott, seconded by Mrs Sylvie Thompson Nominated for 2 years:

Mr Steven Hale proposed by Mr James Hellem, seconded by Dr Carina Lobley

All the above were duly elected unanimously.

(iii) 2 PCC Members to serve on the Joint PCC

(The JPCC consists of the clergy, with Churchwardens and Treasurers of both parishes, plus 2 members elected from each PCC.)

To avoid the necessity of electing 2 members of PCC to the JPCC each year, the following resolution was put to the meeting:

"That the two additional members of the Joint PCC shall be the PCC Vice-Chair and PCC Secretary."

Proposed by Rev Dr Jonathan Mobey, seconded by Mrs Carol Pigott and carried unanimously

(This decision could be altered by a new resolution at any future APCM.)

(iv) <u>Sidesmen</u> Mrs Naomi Gibson had circulated the list of sidesmen. The following were proposed to serve as sidesmen in the coming year, and they were accepted by the meeting

Dr John Berry Mr Jeremy Burbage Mrs Naomi Gibson
Mr Andrew Hayes Mr James Hellem Mr Dave Kerr
Mrs Hazel King Mrs Elizabeth Morris Mrs Carol Pigott
Mr John Pigott Mr Alex Reich Mrs Audrey Slater

Mr Jeff Stopps Mrs Sylvie Thompson

(v) <u>Independent Examiner</u> Jane Moreton, of Harwell, was prepared to continue as our Independent Examiner.

The Independent examiner was proposed by the Rector, seconded by Mrs Liz Morris, and accepted unanimously.

2. Prayers of Thanks and Commissioning

The Rector prayed briefly, giving thanks for those who had served All Saints' over the past year on various subcommittees, in groups, and as individuals; too many to single out individually. He also gave thanks for those committed to serve over the next twelve months, and asked for strength and guidance, and a spirit of unity, as we proceed to work for the Lord in this place.

3. Receiving the Reports

The reports for this year (Minutes of Previous Meeting; Electoral Roll Report; Annual Report, which included the Deanery Synod report; and the Financial Statements) had all been published on the Church website, produced in paper form in church, and reported on verbally during services as appropriate, on the Sundays leading up to the Annual meeting. This had given people a chance to discuss the reports with those presenting them, after the services.

The Formal Adoption of the Accounts was:

Proposed by Rev Dr Jonathan Mobey, seconded by Mrs Hazel King, and carried unanimously.

4. <u>Discussions, Questions and Tabling Resolutions</u>

The Rector opened the floor to questions and discussion.

- (i) Mrs Audrey Slater asked why the result of the consultation on changing All Saints' service pattern had not been mentioned in the Annual report. The Rector replied that the option of holding two morning services had not been ruled out absolutely, but we would be exploring the possibility of holding "Fresh Expressions" type services, and also new children's groups were to be set up at All Saints'. The decisions resulting from the consultation had been made at an extraordinary meeting in January, and would be covered in the Annual Report for 2016 at the next APCM.
- (ii) Mr Steven Hale asked about the current situation on the heating project. Mr Andrew Hayes responded, that this had been put on hold, but we were still keeping our options open.
- (iii) The Rector thanked Mr Gordon Cowan for his work on revising and maintaining the Electoral Roll. This now stood at 81 on the roll, of whom 11 were not resident in Chilton. 11 had been added, and 3 removed during the year.
- (iv) Mr Andrew Hayes queried the increase in charges for electricity, water, and now telephone charges. Was this caused by the installation of the telephone line this year? Mr Gibson replied that this had partly been the case, but also we had been overcharged for electricity in a previous year, then had been using up the resulting credit, and were now back to paying the correct amount for our electricity.
- (v) Mr Alex Reich expressed his thanks to the Rector, Rev Pam Rolls, and Rev Jan Radford, for their ministry in serving the parish. They were all very much appreciated by him, and by the members of All Saints' church. We were very fortunate to have them all. The Rector also added his thanks for the support the clergy had from our preachers and lay leaders, Mr Reich included among them.

5. Closing prayer

The Rector closed the meeting in prayer, at 11.10 am.
(Chairman)
Carol Pigott (Secretary)